Publications

More harm than good? Sorting effects in a compensatory education program, Davezies, L., and Garrouste, M., Journal of Human Resources (forthcoming)
Abstract
We provide evidence that school-based compensatory education policies create sorting effects, by analyzing a French program, which targeted low-achieving and socially disadvantaged junior high schools. We use geocoded original data and a regression discontinuity framework to show that the program decreases the individual probability to attend a treated school and symmetrically increases the probability to attend a private school. The effects are driven by pupils from high socioeconomic backgrounds, resulting in an increase in social segregation across schools.

In French only

« Track Choices at the End of Middle School: the Effect of Opening a New High School », Garrouste, M. and Zaiem, M., Revue française d’économie, (forthcoming), proceedings of the 2017 CNRS winter school on public policy evaluation (ETEPP)
Abstract
This study analyzes the effect of opening a new high school on pupils’ allocation to different tracks at the end of lower secondary education. We use high school openings to highlight the constraint local school supply exerts on individual schooling decisions. The working sample covers all pupils enrolled in 9th grade between the school year 2007-2008 and the school year 2010-2011 in France. The estimation strategy (a generalized difference in differences) takes advantage of the variation in time and space of the openings of high schools to estimate the causal effect of an increase in school supply on the allocation of pupils to tracks at the end of 9th grade. We show that opening a new high school increases the probability to continue in high school for pupils from the nearest middle school. This increase is driven by the vocational track, and by low achieving students.
« Does the réseaux ambition réussite program improve pupils' academic achievement? A regression discontinuity analysis », Caille, J.-P., Davezies, L., and Garrouste, M., Revue économique, 2016/3 (Vol. 67), pp. 639-666
Abstract
“Réseaux ambition réussite” (RAR), or “ambition success networks,” are a compensatory education policy that took place in France between 2006 and 2011. To be eligible, a collège (equivalent to junior high school) had to enroll at least 67% of pupils from a disadvantaged background, and at least 10% of pupils having repeated twice or more when entering junior high school. About 3% of junior high school pupils were enrolled in a rar. Evaluating the impact of such a policy is complicated by two types of bias. First, the selection of schools into the program makes that the pupils enrolled in a rar school would have lower academic achievement than the other pupils on average, even in the absence of the program. Second, the school is not the good level of analysis, since pupils may select themselves into the program. To analyze the causal effect of the program on individual academic achievement at the end of junior high school, we use a regression discontinuity method and an original exhaustive data set. Overall, we do not find any significant effect of enrollment in a RAR on individual educational outcomes at the end of junior high school. The absence of average effect may be due to differentiated effects according to pupils’ characteristics.
« Être sans diplôme aujourd’hui en France : quelles caractéristiques, quel parcours et quel destin ? », Bouhia, R., Garrouste, M., Lebrère, A., Ricroch, L., and de Saint Pol, T., Économie et Statistique, n° 443, 2011, pp. 29-50

Publications

School supply constraints in track choices: A French study using high school openings, Garrouste, M., Zaiem M., Economics of Education Review, 2020, Vol. 78, Num. 102041
Résumé
We study the effect of opening a new high school on individual schooling decisions at the end of lower secondary education. The working sample covers all ninth graders between 2007–2008 and 2012–2013 in France. The two-way fixed-effect estimation strategy uses variation in time and space to estimate the causal effect of an increase in school supply. Opening a new high school significantly increases the probability of pupils from neighboring middle schools continuing in higher secondary education. The effect is exclusively due to new high schools proposing a vocational track. Furthermore, the effect is mainly driven by low-achieving students.
Good teaching and good grades. Can you buy pedagogy?, Garrouste, M., Le Saout R., Annals of Economics and Statistics, 2020, Num. 139
Résumé
This paper analyzes the relationship between students grades and their evaluations of teaching. We exploit an original data set from almost 100 courses during 7 academic years in a French higher education institution. We use teacher fixed effects to rule out any simultaneity or endogeneity bias. We find that students take their exam grade into account when they evaluate teaching. A better grade is associated with a better evaluation of a teacher's pedagogy, although the size of the effect is relatively small. A one-point increase in by-course mean grade corresponds to a less than one percentage point decrease in the proportion of students giving bad evaluations. These results suggest that it is possible to manipulate evaluations through grade or exam leniency.
More harm than good? Sorting effects in a compensatory education program, Davezies, L. et Garrouste, M., Journal of Human Resources, 2020, Vol. 55, Num. 1, pp. 240-277
Résumé
En analysant un dispositif français ciblant des collèges socialement et académiquement défavorisés, nous mettons en évidence que les politiques d'éducation prioritaire territorialisées créent des effets d'évitement scolaire. Nous utilisons une base de données individuelle géolocalisée et une méthode de régression sur discontinuité pour montrer que le dispositif diminue la probabilité individuelle de fréquenter un collège traité et augmente symétriquement la probabilité de fréquenter un collège privé. Les effets sont portés par des élèves issus de catégories sociales favorisées, conduisant à une augmentation de la ségrégation sociale entre établissements scolaires.
« Effet de l’ouverture d’un lycée sur l’orientation des élèves à la fin du collège », Garrouste, M. et Zaiem, M., Revue française d’économie, 2018/1 (Vol. XXXIII), numéro spécial de l’édition 2017 de l’école thématique du CNRS sur l’évaluation des politiques publiques (ETEPP)
Résumé
Cette étude analyse l’effet de l’ouverture d’un nouveau lycée sur le parcours scolaire des élèves à la fin du premier cycle de l’enseignement secondaire. Nous utilisons les ouvertures de nouveaux lycées pour illustrer la contrainte que l’offre scolaire locale exerce sur les décisions individuelles de scolarisation. Notre échantillon de travail couvre l’ensemble des élèves scolarisés en classe de troisième pendant les années scolaires 2007-2008 à 2010-2011 en France. Notre stratégie d’estimation (les différences de différences généralisées) utilise la variation dans le temps et dans l’espace des ouvertures de lycées pour estimer l’effet causal d’une augmentation de l’offre locale sur l’orientation des élèves à la fin de la troisième. Nous trouvons que l’ouverture d’un nouveau lycée augmente la probabilité pour les élèves du collège le plus proche de continuer leur scolarité dans le second cycle de secondaire. Cette augmentation est due à la voie professionnelle. Par ailleurs, les effets sont portés par les élèves les plus fragiles scolairement.
« Les résultats scolaires des collégiens bénéficient-ils des réseaux ambition réussite ? Une analyse par régression sur discontinuité », Caille, J.-P., Davezies, L. et Garrouste, M., Revue économique, 2016/3 (Vol. 67), pp. 639-666
Résumé
Les réseaux ambition réussite (RAR) sont un dispositif d’éducation prioritaire mis en place en France entre 2006 et 2011. Pour y être éligible, un collège devait scolariser au moins 67 % de ses élèves issus de catégories socioprofessionnelles défavorisées et au moins 10 % d’élèves ayant redoublé au moins deux fois à la rentrée de sixième. Près de 3 % des collégiens bénéficient des RAR. L’évaluation d’un tel dispositif se heurte à deux biais. D’une part, le mode de sélection des établissements dans le programme fait que les élèves scolarisés en RAR réussiraient moins bien, en moyenne, que les autres, y compris en l’absence du dispositif. D’autre part, le collège n’est pas le niveau d’analyse adéquat, dans la mesure où les élèves peuvent s’autosélectionner dans le dispositif. Pour évaluer au niveau de l’élève l’effet causal du programme RAR sur les résultats et les trajectoires scolaires à la fin du collège, nous utilisons une méthode de régression sur discontinuité et une base de données exhaustive et originale. Nous ne trouvons pas d’effet global de la scolarisation en RAR sur les performances scolaires à la fin du collège. Cette absence d’effet moyen pourrait être due à des effets différenciés selon les caractéristiques des élèves.
« Être sans diplôme aujourd’hui en France : quelles caractéristiques, quel parcours et quel destin ? », Bouhia, R., Garrouste, M., Lebrère, A., Ricroch, L. et de Saint Pol, T., Économie et Statistique, n° 443, 2011, pp. 29-50
Résumé
Cet article vise à étudier la population des personnes sortant sans diplôme du système éducatif français et plus particulièrement à décrire leur parcours scolaire et leur insertion sur le marché du travail, à partir des données de l’enquête Formation et Qualification Professionnelle 2003 de l’Insee. La mise en oeuvre d’une méthode d’appariement optimal sur le calendrier scolaire recueilli lors de l’enquête permet d’établir une typologie des différentes trajectoires menant à une sortie sans diplôme.